JORDAN SCHOOL DISTRICT

Patrice Johnson, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools West Jordan, Utah

Intradistrict Communication

DATE: February 2, 2016

TO: Middle School Principals

High School Principals

Middle School Self Contained Support Class Teachers

High School Special Education Team Leaders

FROM: Laura Finlinson, Administrator of Curric./Staff Development & Special Programs

Lisa Robinson, Director of Special Education

Julie Brown, Program Specialist

SUBJECT: Middle School to High School Transition for Self-Contained Support Classrooms

In order to support the transition of students in Middle School Self-Contained Support Classrooms (SCSC) to High School, the Special Education Department is providing an opportunity for the Middle School SCSC teachers to meet with the High School Special Education Team Leaders. Since most of the students will be attending their boundary high school, it is helpful for the current SCSC teacher to provide information on the needs of the student to create an appropriate high school class schedule as well as know the necessary accommodations for the student to be successful. Middle school teachers need to bring a copy of the current IEP, Evaluation Results Summary, Functional Behavior Assessment and Behavior Intervention Plan, Health Care Plan and a copy of the classes the students have completed or have in progress for high school credit. Half-day substitutes will be provided through budget code 1292. Special educators must make their own substitute arrangements. The transition meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 17th at the District Office in room 129. High school team leaders will need to be present from 8:00 a. m. – 12:00 p.m. Please see the attached schedule for middle school meeting times. **Attendance is at the discretion of the building principal.**

BINGHAM HIGH 8:00-8:30 ERMS Mair 8:30-8:45 JPJMS Moscoso 8:45-9:00 OHMS Siavrakas 9:00-9:15 OHMS Taylor 9:15-9:45 SJMS Lyons 9:45-10:30 SJMS Jarrard 10:30-11:00 WJMS Preece

COPPER HILLS HIGH 8:45-9:15 JPJMS Charon 9:15-9:30 ERMS Mair 9:30-9:45 SJMS Jarrard 9:45-10:00 SJMS Lyons 10:00-10:15 WJMS Hansen 10:15-11:00 WJMS Zander

HERRIMAN HIGH 8:00-8:45 OHMS Siavrakas 9:00-9:15 ERMS Mair 9:15-9:45 SHMS Sneed 10:00-10:30 SHMS Marx 10:30-10:45 SJMS Lyons

RIVERTON HIGH 8:30-8:45 SHMS Jenkins 8:45-9:00 OHMS Taylor 9:00-9:30 OHMS Siavrakas 9:30-10:00 SHMS Marx

WEST JORDAN HIGH 8:00-8:45 JPJMS Charon 8:45-9:15 JPJMS Moscoso 9:15-10:00 WJMS Hansen 10:00-10:30 WJMS Preece 11:00-11:15 WJMS Zander